Gently

When first I moved into my home
the land was inhabited
by Angels and cougar
Last winter the cougar died
I found her not 50 yards from my door
Now the Angels only come when I ask

It has changed
the way the land feels
Even the wind
is less blessed by pines

Left in absence
are all of my demons
Making themselves comfortable
in my living room

Though
they do listen to me
They comiserate
Offer advice
It’s like the self help section of hell
Thankfully I have an ottoman

The truth is
I have changed
and now
I invite my demons in
to share tea
with me
my loves
and my Angels
all in circle
gently

Leave a Reply

