Winter

Tonight I had a moment.

The eyes of Winter caught mine
and I startled
For in the depths of that cool stare
I saw ancestors
my Grandfather
too many to take in
looking back toward
through my masks,
which I had believed removed
through my shields,
which I had remembered discarding
at my naked self

And we held that mutual gaze
long enough
for me to feel the chill of awareness
a hint of shame
and so much loss
as reels of memories flooded my mind

What shook me, however
was the absense of judgment
not a nod of disapproval
that I so expected present

Instead
only a question:
What will you do now?

Leave a Reply

